Pom pom perfection, part 3.

Good evening All!

Hope you had a glorious day?

Okay, so here is the third and final instalment of my pom pom tutorials.

This way of making these little bundles of joy is really easy and one of my favourites (before I tried the fork way of course). I remember when I first tried it I thought, far out, this is so quick!!

Let’s jump straight in!

For this tutorial (bah ha ha like I’ve done loads of other ones) I used the Clover large size contraption. For all of you in the UK you can find one here.

IMG_4766

Looks complicated I know and when I received it I nearly cried, well, I put on a worried face. But hopefully we can demystify this little wonder.

Let’s start off by opening it, taking a look and getting ready to pom pom ourselves into a frenzy……… aaaaaaand breath.

IMG_4768

There are two bits on each side so four altogether.

Just get your wool (I used Rowan big wool which is perfect for this project and makes it even quicker, yay!!) and start winding. Make sure you hold the two prongs together when you first start winding otherwise it can be a bit wonky to begin with.

IMG_4769

Keep going back and forth until you have a nice fat bundle of wool.

IMG_4771

Make sure you end up at the end where it folds into the middle so that you can pull the wool through and start winding in exactly the same way on the other two bits. The side you have just finished should fit snugly back into the middle. Sometimes because I wind so much on I have to shove it in a bit. You can see by the picture that you are passing the wool through and starting at the hinge end on the other side of the pom pom maker.

IMG_4773

Once you have finished and closed both sides you should have a lovely looking thing like the one below. I am so easily pleased!! I really do see this as a thing of beauty.

IMG_4776

Now the exciting part! Get your trusty shears out and follow the grooves on the side and start cutting.

IMG_4777

The best thing about this wool is that when it’s cut it looks like sea anemones……

IMG_4781

Cute huh!

After you have finished all the cutting this is what you are left with:

IMG_4780

Almost there. Take a long piece of wool and starting at the bottom tie it around the pom pom through the middle grooves thusly…..

IMG_4782

Tie about three very tight knots, not sure why just makes me feel like it’s more secure. Then we open the blue bits like so,

IMG_4784

And then the middle bits easily come apart revealing the loveliest ball of yum ever!

IMG_4787

Isn’t that pretty! And how easy was that.

So there you have it. Pom pom tutorials done!! I can now cross that one off the list.

Hope you enjoyed this and if you have any other ways of making these things then let me know!

Big love from me and the pom pom’s

IMG_4789

2 thoughts on “Pom pom perfection, part 3.

  1. Sandra 24/01/2015 / 16:20

    I love your Pom poms!

    Like

Leave a Reply

