Pom pom perfection. Part 1.

Hello lovely ones,

Hope you are all enjoying your New Years break? I’m loving having this time with family it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

I’ve had a lot of people say that they never knew how to make pom pom’s. Apparently the last tutorial helped so I thought I would do a small series on different ways to make pom pom’s.

I made one the night before last for a baby’s hat so lets start with that one.

I like to use the little plastic discs that are specifically for making pom pom’s, find the link here. They make three different sizes so pretty good for a lot of different projects. This is the mid sized one.

IMG_4629

You can always make your own out of cardboard. You just cut two discs in the size required and then cut a hole in the middle. As I am the queen of cutting corners the plastic ones are perfect for me.

You then put the discs together like so:

IMG_4630

Then we start the absolute mammoth task of winding on the wool. This tiny little pompom got me through 2 1/2 episodes of Homeland!!

Start by pulling your wool through the centre keeping the discs together. You have to keep pulling the wool through until you have covered the entire disc as below. Wind each bit next to the last in one direction making sure not to leave any gaps. If you only want a quick pom pom thats not very full then you could probably stop once you have reached the beginning.

IMG_4598

I love my pom pom’s to be as full as they can be so I go around and around until the hole in the middle is non existent. I use a yarn needle to push through the centre when it gets really small. When you are finished it should like this:

IMG_4602

Once you’re done we then start cutting around the outside. Turn the disc on to its side and slide your scissors into the gap and start cutting. Ooh how exciting!

IMG_4603

Once you have cut all the way around you take a long piece of wool and tie it around the middle in between those grooves in the plastic. Tie it super tight so the bits don’t come undone. You then slide the disc off each side to reveal your fabulous pom pom.

IMG_4605

I find rolling it between my palms helps the shape and sometimes I will cut little bits off to perfect it.

Voila! perfect pom pom for the perfect little hat.

IMG_4621

I will put up another blog in the next few days about 2 other ways to make lovely pom pom’s. You are all totally capable at making theseHave a wonderful day people’s. Big Love!

Leave a Reply

